When were the First Lok Sabha Elections Held in Independent India?

The Indian general election of 1951–52, held from 25 October 1951 to 21 February 1952, was the first election to the Lok Sabha after India became independent on August 15, 1947. 1849 candidates competed for 489 seats in the Lok Sabha, and more than 173 million people (out of a population of about 360 million) were eligible to vote – which made it the largest election conducted at the time. Voter turnout stood at 45.7 per cent.

The Indian National Congress won 364 of the 489 seats and 45 per cent of the total votes polled, and Jawaharlal Nehru became the first democratically elected Prime Minister of the country.

The first person to cast his vote in this election was Shyam Saran Negi, who voted in the Chini region in Kinnaur district, Himachal Pradesh, in October 1951. The Chini region had held elections before other parts of the state, due to predictions of heavy snowfall in higher altitudes.

Share Article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *