A constellation is a group of stars making a recognisable pattern in the sky. There are 88 official constellations. Throughout the year Sun crosses 12 constellations, namely Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius and Pisces. This is used in western Astrology and is commonly called as Zodiac signs. Zodiac sign of a period corresponds to position of Sun among these Zodiac- Constellations. For example, if it’s Scorpio Zodiac period then Sun is in Scorpius Constellation. Depending on the month and date of your birth, you can find out your Zodiac sign! Do you know yours?

The Sun is at the center of the solar system and planets move around the sun in different orbits i.e. circles. If you carefully examine the night sky frequently you’ll notice that constellations don’t move relative to each other. But some objects do move in the foreground. They can be planets, comets or Artificial Satellites. To view the wonders of the night sky, one should get away from city lights and go to some remote place so that the pollution caused by light is minimal.

Share Article:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *